The Cornea Society presents three annual recognition awards. The Castroviejo Medal, the Society’s highest award, recognizes the most outstanding individual in the field of cornea and anterior segment of the eye; The Dohlman Award is presented in recognition of a lifetime of teaching excellence in the field of cornea and external disease along with contributions to the profession; and the Troutman Cornea Prize for Young Clinician Investigators, awards an investigator, 40 years of age or younger, for the most innovative and outstanding paper published in Cornea that year.

Castroviejo Award

castro           CAS

Each year the Society names the most outstanding individual in the field of cornea and anterior segment of the eye to receive the Castroviejo Medal and to deliver the Castroviejo Lecture at the Society’s scientific symposium at the American Academy of Ophthalmology annul meeting.  This is the Society’s highest award and is given in recognition of exceptional contributions in support of the Society’s mission: to promote knowledge, research and understanding in cornea, external disease and refractive surgery. The award is named for Ramon Castroviejo, MD, the father of modern corneal transplant surgery and the inspiration for the founding of the Cornea Society.

Castroviejo Award Recipients:


2020 Jayne S. Weiss, MD

Past Award Recipients

2019 John Dart, MD

2018 Alan Sugar, MD

2017 Jonathan Lass, MD

2016 Dimitri Azar, MD

2015 Elisabeth J. Cohen, MD

2014 Mark J. Mannis, MD

2013 Edward J. Holland, MD

2012 James P. McCulley, MD

2011 Joel Sugar, MD

2010 Richard L. Lindstrom, MD

2009 H. Dwight Cavanagh, MD, PhD

2008 Shigeru Kinoshita, MD

2007 W. Bruce Jackson, MD, FRCS

2006 Jay H. Krachmer, MD

2005 Gary N. Foulks, MD

2004 George Waring, III, MD

2003 Ronald Smith, MD

2002 David Easty, MB, ChB

2001 Teruo Nishida, MD

2000 William Bourne, MD

1999 Henry Edelhauser, MD

1998 Michael Lemp, MD

1997 Jules Baum, MD

1996 Deborah Pavan-Langston, MD

1995 Richard Forster, MD

1994 Barrie R. Jones, MBCHB

1993 Anthony J. Bron, MD

1992 Richard A. Thoft, MD

1991 Peter R. Laibson, MD

1990 Richard C. Troutman, MD

1989 S. Arthur Boruchoff, MD

1988 Frank Polack, MD

1987 Herbert Kaufman, MD

1986 David Maurice, MD

1985 Phillips Thygeson, MD

1984 Yves I. Pouliquen, MD

1983 Albert Urrets-Zavalia, MD

1982 Saiichi Mischima, MD

1981 Claes H. Dohlman, MD

1980 A. Edward Maumenee, MD

1979 Max Fine, MD

1978 David G. Cogan, MD

1977 Jose I. Barraquer, MD

1976 Ramon Castroviejo, MD

1975 A. Gerald Devoe, MD

Dohlman Award

dohlman             dohlman

The Dohlman Award is given to recognize a lifetime of teaching excellence in the field of cornea and external disease and for contributions to the profession.  Claes Dohlman, MD, PhD, the inaugural recipient of the Award and for whom it is named, created the first formal corneal fellowship program in the United States at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary and the Retina Foundation (now Schepens Eye Research Institute) in Boston.  Dr. Dohlman has trained hundreds of fellows, many of whom went on to become full professors.  His commitment to teaching and education has enabled many of his students to leave their mark on the field of ophthalmology.

Dohlman Award Recipients:


2020 Eduardo Alfonso, MD

Past Award Recipient

2019 Ivan Schwab, MD

2018 Ronald Smith, MD

2017 Mark J. Mannis, MD

2016 Deborah Pavan-Langston, MD

2015 Roger F. Steinert, MD

2014 Dan B. Jones, MD

2013 Richard K. Forster, MD

2012 Prof. Peter Watson

2011 S. Arthur Boruchoff, MD

2010 Herbert E. Kaufman, MD

2009 Jay H. Krachmer, MD

2008 Gilbert Smolin, MD

2007 Peter R. Laibson, MD

2006 Claes H. Dohlman, MD, PhD



Troutman Cornea Prize


Dr. Richard Troutman, one of the founders of the Castroviejo Cornea Society and its second president, graciously established the Troutman Cornea Prize. The award is bestowed annually by the Society for the paper published in Cornea during the previous year judged to be most outstanding and innovative, and authored by an investigator 40 years of age or younger. The recipient will receive an award of $5,000 and the opportunity to present his/her work at the annual scientific meeting of the Cornea Society just prior to the AAO meeting.

Troutman Prize Recipients

2019 Marina Bertolin, MSc

2018 Gregory Moloney, MBBS, BSc

2017 Khoa D. Tran, PhD

2016 Konstantinos T. Tsaousis, MD

2015 Mark A. Greiner, MD

2014 Fei-fei Huang, MM

2013 Rafael A. Oechsler, MD

2012 Kaevalin Lekhanont, MD

2011 Daniel Bohringer, MD

2010 Vanitha Ratnalingam, MSurg (Ophthal)

2009 Jay Bradley, MD

2008 Hui-Jung Yeh, MS