Each year the Society names the most outstanding individual in the field of cornea and anterior segment of the eye to receive the Castroviejo Medal and to deliver the Castroviejo Lecture at the Society’s scientific symposium at the American Academy of Ophthalmology annual meeting.  This is the Society’s highest award and is given in recognition of exceptional contributions in support of the Society’s mission: to promote knowledge, research and understanding in cornea, external disease and refractive surgery. The award is named for Ramon Castroviejo, MD, the father of modern corneal transplant surgery and the inspiration for the founding of the Cornea Society.

Castroviejo Coin

Castroviejo Award Recipients


2022 Theo Wolfgang Seiler, MD, PhD

2021 Carol Karp, MD
2020 Jayne Weiss, MD
2019 John Dart, MD
2018 Alan Sugar, MD
2017 Jonathan Lass, MD
2016 Dimitri Azar, MD
2015 Elisabeth J. Cohen, MD
2014 Mark J. Mannis, MD
2013 Edward J. Holland, MD 
2012 James P. McCulley, MD
2011 Joel Sugar, MD
2010 Richard L. Lindstrom, MD
2009 H. Dwight Cavanagh, MD, PhD
2008 Shigeru Kinoshita, MD
2007 W. Bruce Jackson, MD, FRCS
2006 Jay H. Krachmer, MD
2005 Gary N Foulks, MD
2004 George Waring, III, MD
2003 Ronald Smith, MD
2002 David Easty, MB, ChB

2001 Teruo Nishida, MD
2000 William Bourne, MD
1999 Henry Edelhauser, MD
1998 Michael Lemp, MD
1997 Jules Baum, MD
1996 Deborah Pavan-Langston, MD
1995 Richard Forster, MD
1994 Barrie R. Jones MBCHB
1993 Anthony J. Bron, MD
1992 Richard A. Thoft, MD
1991 Peter R. Laibson, MD
1990 Richard C. Troutman, MD
1989 S. Arthur Boruchoff, MD
1988 Frank Polack, MD
1987 Herbert Kaufman, MD
1986 David Maurice, MD
1985 Phillips Thygeson, MD
1984 Yves I. Pouliquen, MD
1983 Alberto Urrets-Zavalia, MD
1982 Saiichi Mishima, MD
1981 Claes H. Dohlman, MD
1980 A. Edward Maumenee, MD
1979 Max Fine, MD
1978 David G. Cogan, MD
1977 Jose I. Barraquer, MD
1976 Ramon Castroviejo, MD
1975 A. Gerard Devoe, MD